Press Releases

Press Releases

Melissa Hockstad to Chair NAM’s Council of Manufacturing Associations

2023 Association Executive of the Year Selected to Head Premier Industry Leadership Group

Washington, D.C. – The National Association of Manufacturers’ Council of Manufacturing Associations announced new 2023 leadership at the CMA 2023 Winter Leadership Conference. Melissa Hockstad, president and CEO of the American Cleaning Institute and the 2023 Association Executive of the Year as named by Association TRENDS and CEO Update, will serve as chair of the CMA Board of Advisers. Jennifer Abril, president and CEO of the Society of Chemical Manufacturers & Affiliates (SOCMA), will serve as vice chair. Made up of more than 200 industry-specific manufacturing associations representing 130,000 companies worldwide, the CMA creates powerful partnerships across the industry and ensures manufacturers have the strongest possible voice.

“The Council of Manufacturing Associations is a positive force for collective advocacy, industry thought leadership and association operations. We strive to be the group industry associations choose,” said Hockstad. “The country depends on our leadership, and I look forward to collaborating with the manufacturing association community to strengthen our voice and advance our competitiveness agenda in this new year.”

“Melissa and Jennifer are experienced and accomplished leaders who are well-positioned to continue the cooperative spirit that has made the CMA such an influential organization for our industry. To add to her long list of achievements, Melissa was just named 2023 Association Executive of the Year by Association TRENDS and CEO Update,” said NAM President and CEO Jay Timmons. “I look forward to working with them to promote plans and policies that keep manufacturing resilient and uphold the values that have made America exceptional: free enterprise, competitiveness, individual liberty and equal opportunity.”

Prior to leading the ACI, Hockstad held senior leadership positions at American Fuel & Petrochemical Manufacturers and SOCMA. Hockstad previously served as CMA vice chair.

The CMA’s mission is focused on bolstering the industry’s nationwide grassroots mobilization efforts and improving the competitiveness of manufacturers in the United States. CMA members work with the NAM to unite the manufacturing association community, and ultimately the broader business community, around strategies for increased manufacturing job creation, investment and innovation in America.

Newly appointed 2023 CMA board members include the following:

  • Holly Alfano, CEO of the Independent Lubricant Manufacturers Association
  • Kerwin Brown, president and CEO of the Bakery Equipment Manufacturers and Allieds
  • Charles Johnson, president and CEO of The Aluminum Association
  • Heather Rhoderick, president of the Valve Manufacturers Association of America
  • Corey Rosenbusch, president and CEO of The Fertilizer Institute
  • Leslie Sarasin, president and CEO of FMI – The Food Industry Association


The National Association of Manufacturers is the largest manufacturing association in the United States, representing small and large manufacturers in every industrial sector and in all 50 states. Manufacturing employs more than 12.9 million men and women, contributes $2.81 trillion to the U.S. economy annually and accounts for 55% of private-sector research and development. The NAM is the powerful voice of the manufacturing community and the leading advocate for a policy agenda that helps manufacturers compete in the global economy and create jobs across the United States. For more information about the NAM or to follow us on Twitter and Facebook, please visit

Contact us with questions or requests

[email protected]

View More